

Legislation Text

## File #: 18-0503, Version: 1

## **PROPOSED RESOLUTION**

## CREDENTIALS CERTIFICATION FOR FOREST PRESERVE DISTRICT OF COOK COUNTY DELEGATES TO THE ILLINOIS ASSOCIATION OF PARK DISTRICTS

WHEREAS, the Illinois Association of Park Districts ("IAPD") is a nonprofit service, research and education organization that serves park districts, forest preserves, conservation, municipal park and recreation, and special recreation agencies; and

**WHEREAS,** the IAPD advances these agencies, their citizen board members and professional staff in their ability to provide outstanding park and recreation opportunities, preserve natural resources and improve the quality of life for all people in Illinois; and

**WHEREAS**, the mission of the Forest Preserves of Cook County (the "Forest Preserves") is to acquire, restore and manage lands for the purpose of protecting and preserving public open space with its natural wonders, significant prairies, forests, wetlands, rivers, streams, and other landscapes with all of its associated wildlife, in a natural state for the education, pleasure and recreation of the public now and in the future; and

WHEREAS, the Forest Preserves is a member district of the IAPD; and

**WHEREAS**, Article V, Section 3 of the Constitution and By-Laws of IAPD states each member district shall be entitled to be represented at all IAPD meetings and conferences by a delegate or delegates and that delegates may include any employee of the member district authorized by the governing board of the member district; and

**NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED**, that the Forest Preserves of Cook County Board of Commissioners does hereby authorize General Superintendent, Arnold Randall to serve as the Forest Preserves' delegate to all IAPD business, meetings and conferences in the years 2019 through 2022, including all annual business meetings of IAPD.

**BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED**, that in his absence from any or all Association business, Deputy General Superintendent, Eileen Figel is authorized to serve as first alternate delegate, that Delio Calzolari, Director of Legislative and Governmental Affairs, is authorized to serve as second alternate delegate and that Cathy Geraghty, Director of Strategic Initiatives, is authorized to serve as third alternate delegate.