

Legislation Text

## File #: 18-0267, Version: 1

## **PROPOSED RESOLUTION**

## RECOGNIZING MEMBERS OF THE FOREST PRESERVE DISTRICT OF COOK COUNTY DEPARTMENT OF LAW ENFORCEMENT FOR DEDICATION TO DUTY RELATED TO SEARCH AND RECOVERY EFFORTS IN MAY 2017

**WHEREAS**, the Forest Preserve District of Cook County Department of Law Enforcement is dedicated to its mission of serving and protecting the residents of Cook County and visitors of the Forest Preserves' attractions and properties; and

**WHEREAS**, the sworn law enforcement officers of the Forest Preserves' Department of Law Enforcement enforce ordinances and laws of the Forest Preserves, Cook County, and the State of Illinois, develop good public relations; perform duties pertaining to the welfare of the public and the operation of the Forest Preserves; and maintain peace, order and quiet within the Forest Preserves; and

**WHEREAS**, on Saturday, May 13, 2017, members of the Forest Preserves' Department of Law Enforcement were the first to respond to a multijurisdictional dispatched call to Thatcher Woods regarding an individual entering the Des Plaines River from a railroad trestle and not resurfacing; and

**WHEREAS**, the Forest Preserves' Department of Law Enforcement immediately utilized all available personnel and resources to engage in an extensive search and recovery effort for the individual and were later joined by several other first responders from other law enforcement and rescue organizations; and

**WHEREAS,** dedicated members of the Forest Preserves Department of Law Enforcement worked cooperatively and tirelessly for days in the search and recovery mission including patrolling the river and using search canines in and around the Des Plaines River until, despite their diligent efforts, the search tragically ended on Thursday, May 18, 2017; and

**NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED,** that Toni Preckwinkle, President, and the Board of Commissioners of the Forest Preserve District of Cook County do hereby recognize each of the following members of the Forest Preserves' Department of Law Enforcement for their determined service and dedication to duty.

Chief Kelvin Pope
Commander Anthony Rapacz
Deputy Commander Martin Hasler
Deputy Commander Alfred Perales
Sergeant Kendra Favela
Sergeant Craig Gehring
Sergeant Alvina Ponder
Sergeant Maninder Sangha
Sergeant Fred Schmid
K-9 Officer Darrin Jackson
K-9 Rocco
Detective Roberto Gonzalez
Detective Lauren Lentini
Field Training Officer Garnette Brown

Field Training Officer Ryan Harter Police Officer Jimmy Jesse Carrillo Police Officer Daisy Castildo Police Officer Otearle Coleman Police Officer Quinten Crabtree Police Officer Devin Ennis Police Officer Bobby Garza Police Officer Rosalyn Hill Police Officer Andy Kraly Police Officer Shawn McCormick Police Officer Jonathan Simmons Police Officer Mark Tomasik Police Officer Anthony Warrior Former Chief John RobertsFormer Police Officer Jerome FiccaroFormer Deputy Commander Michael AlbrechtFormer Police Officer Ernesto PerezFormer K-9 Officer Gregory SerratoreFormer Probationary Police Officer Jesus SanchezFormer K-9 DragoFormer Manage

**BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED**, that suitable copies of this Resolution be presented to each of the aforementioned members of the Forest Preserves' Department of Law Enforcement.