

Forest Preserve District of Cook County

118 North Clark Chicago, IL 60602

Legislation Details

File #: 21-0481 Version: 1 Name:

Type: Consent Calendar Resolution Status: Approved

File created: 10/15/2021 In control: FPD Board of Commissioners

On agenda: 11/2/2021 Final action:

Title: PROPOSED RESOLUTION

HONORING ARNOLD RANDALL, GENERAL SUPERINTENDENT OF THE FOREST PRESERVES OF COOK COUNTY, FOR RECEIVING THE CORNELIUS AMORY PUGSLEY MEDAL FROM THE AMERICAN ACADEMY FOR PARK AND RECREATION ADMINISTRATION

WHEREAS, on September 15, 2021, Arnold Randall, General Superintendent of the Forest Preserves of Cook County, received the Cornelius Amory Pugsley Medal for Parks and Conservation from the American Academy for Park and Recreation Administration in association with the National Park Foundation; and

WHEREAS, since 1928 the Honorable Cornelius Amory Pugsley Medals have been nationally prestigious awards that recognize outstanding contributions to the promotion and development of public parks and conservation in the United States; and

WHEREAS, Arnold Randall was acknowledged as a strong administrator and lifelong advocate for parks, open space and conservation and for his many accomplishments throughout his career; and

WHEREAS, Arnold Randall has served as the General Superintendent of the Forest Preserves since his appointment in 2010, and has embraced the development of innovative projects and programs, built inclusive partnerships and collaborative initiatives, and implemented a wide array of master plans and public engagement strategies, including the visionary Next Century Conservation Plan, Natural and Cultural Resources Master Plan, and Southeast Cook County Land Acquisition Plan; and

WHEREAS, the Pugsley Medal recognized Arnold Randall for his leadership, passion, and dedication to protecting and preserving Cook County's unique natural areas and the plants and animals that depend on them and ensuring that people from all backgrounds and walks of life have the opportunity to participate in healthy outdoor recreation and enjoy nature; and

WHEREAS, Arnold Randall is committed to ensuring the Forest Preserves' lands are safe and welcoming for everyone and this commitment led to the creation of the Conservation and Experiential Programming Department, dedicated solely to public programming and engagement, as well as the historic re-opening of five campgrounds in the Forest Preserves, providing Cook County residents with the ability to enjoy camping in local communities; and

WHEREAS, Arnold Randall strives to ensure that the Forest Preserves lands are managed with excellence, transparency and sound financial practices, and his commitment to good government has greatly improved public perception of the Forest Preserves during his tenure; and

WHEREAS, Arnold Randall has championed the power of partnerships and their ability to reach new and diverse audiences and continuously strives to initiate new and elevate existing partnerships which has allowed for the identification of common goals and enabled both the Forest Preserves and its partners to leverage expertise and resources; and

WHEREAS, Arnold Randall has made it a priority for the Forest Preserves to promote an infrastructure and culture that is based on equity and inclusion, empowering a Racial, Equity, Diversity and Inclusion Committee focused on internal agency challenges and championing a position paper

File #: 21-0481, Version: 1

focused on applying a racial equity lens to all the Forest Preserves' future plans, programs, policies and investments.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that Toni Preckwinkle, President and the Forest Preserves of Cook County Board of Commissioners thank and congratulate General Superintendent Arnold Randall for his commitment and dedication to advance the mission of the Forest Preserves of Cook County.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that a suitable copy of this Resolution be presented to Arnold Randall as a token of appreciation for his service to the Forest Preserves of Cook County and the residents of Cook County.

Sponsors:

TONI PRECKWINKLE (President), FRANK J. AGUILAR, ALMA E. ANAYA, LUIS ARROYO JR., SCOTT R. BRITTON, JOHN P. DALEY, DENNIS DEER, BRIDGET DEGNEN, BRIDGET GAINER, BRANDON JOHNSON, BILL LOWRY, DONNA MILLER, STANLEY MOORE, KEVIN B. MORRISON, SEAN M. MORRISON, PETER N. SILVESTRI, DEBORAH SIMS, LARRY SUFFREDIN

Indexes:

Code sections:

Attachments:

Date	Ver.	Action By	Action	Result
11/2/2021	1	FPD Board of Commissioners	approve on the Consent Agenda	Pass