Forest Preserve District of Cook County

118 North Clark Chicago, IL 60602

Legislation Details

File #: 17-0406 Version: 1 Name: HONORING THE FOREST PRESERVES OF

COOK COUNTY AND THE POPLAR CREEK PRAIRIE STEWARDS FOR RECEIVING A CHICAGO WILDERNESS EXCELLENCE IN ECOLOGICAL RESTORATION AWARD

Type: Consent Calendar Resolution Status: Approved

File created: 10/31/2017 In control: FPD Board of Commissioners

On agenda: 11/14/2017 Final action: 11/14/2017

Title: PROPOSED RESOLUTION

HONORING THE FOREST PRESERVES OF COOK COUNTY AND THE POPLAR CREEK PRAIRIE STEWARDS FOR RECEIVING A CHICAGO WILDERNESS EXCELLENCE IN ECOLOGICAL

RESTORATION AWARD

WHEREAS, on July 27, 2017, the Forest Preserves of Cook County and the Poplar Creek Prairie Stewards were honored with a Platinum Accreditation Excellence in Ecological Restoration Award from Chicago Wilderness for their habitat restoration and management of Shoe Factory Road Prairie Nature Preserve and Carl Hansen Preserve; and

WHEREAS, the Chicago Wilderness Excellence in Ecological Restoration Awards showcase the region's best examples of places that benefit both wildlife and people; and

WHEREAS, Shoe Factory Road Prairie is a 9-acre, state dedicated Nature Preserve located in Hanover Township within Hoffman Estates, Illinois and is surrounded by over 300 acres of prairie, savanna, and woodland, referred to as the Carl Hansen Preserve, and has been managed by the Popular Creek Prairie Stewards and the Forest Preserves of Cook County for over 25 years; and

WHEREAS, the Poplar Creek Prairie Stewards' efforts contribute to the protection of a rare remnant gravel hill prairie. Gravel hill prairies represent a microcosm within the tallgrass prairie that support a unique plant community, including a number of important rare species; and

WHEREAS, the Poplar Creek Prairie Stewards' dedication to and hard work at Shoe Factory Road Prairie has resulted in a thriving and ecologically healthy site that can be enjoyed by all Cook County residents; and

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that Toni Preckwinkle, President; and the Board of Commissioners of the Forest Preserves thank and congratulate the Forest Preserves and the Poplar Creek Prairie Stewards for their commitment to the mission of the Forest Preserves and the goals of the Next Century Conservation Plan; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that a suitable copy of this Resolution be presented to the awardees as a token of appreciation for their service to the Forest Preserves of Cook County and the residents of Cook County.

Sponsors: TONI PRECKWINKLE (President), LUIS ARROYO JR., RICHARD R. BOYKIN, JERRY BUTLER,

JOHN P. DALEY, DENNIS DEER, JOHN A. FRITCHEY, BRIDGET GAINER, JESÚS G. GARCÍA, GREGG GOSLIN, EDWARD M. MOODY, STANLEY MOORE, SEAN M. MORRISON, TIMOTHY O. SCHNEIDER, PETER N. SILVESTRI, DEBORAH SIMS, LARRY SUFFREDIN, JEFFREY R.

TOBOLSKI

Indexes:

Code sections:

File #: 17-0406, Version: 1

Attachments:

Date	Ver.	Action By	Action	Result
11/14/2017	1	FPD Board of Commissioners	approve	Pass