Forest Preserve District of Cook County

118 North Clark Chicago, IL 60602

Legislation Details (With Text)

File #: 15-0631 Version: 2 Name: HONORING THE FOREST PRESERVE

FOUNDATION'S 2015 MAJOR SPONSORS AND

HOST COMMITTEE OF THE ANNUAL

CONSERVATION CUP GOLF BENEFIT

Type: Resolution Status: Approved

File created: 11/2/2015 In control: FPD Board of Commissioners

On agenda: 11/17/2015 Final action: 11/17/2015

Title: PROPOSED RESOLUTION

HONORING THE FOREST PRESERVE FOUNDATION'S 2015 MAJOR SPONSORS AND HOST COMMITTEE OF THE ANNUAL CONSERVATION CUP GOLF BENEFIT

WHEREAS, the 2015 Conservation Cup Host Committee was comprised of Mary Jo Herseth and Jackie Loewe, Chairs, and Marilyn Bush, Sean Patrick Durkin, Brian Dober, Tom Livingston, Josh Proctor, Mark Lester, Jered Weiland, and Claire Williams, members; and

WHEREAS, co-chairs Jackie Loewe and Mary Jo Herseth, co-chaired the Conservation Cup Host Committee, and have done so for three consecutive years, each time ensuring that the event would raise significant resources to support Forest Preserves of Cook County programs. Jackie Lowie, who also serves as a member of the Forest Preserve Foundation, and Mary Jo Herseth worked tirelessly to secure extensive event sponsorships and donations and have dedicated numerous volunteer hours in support of the Foundation's mission; and

WHEREAS, all of the members of the 2015 Conservation Cup Host Committee contributed significantly to efforts which raised \$168,000, which is the highest amount raised by this golf benefit since its inception in 2012. They accomplished this by building and strengthening relationships with private organizations throughout Cook County; and

WHEREAS, the proceeds from the Conservation Cup support programs in the Forest Preserves of Cook County that engage and connect our citizens through nature education, exploration, restoration and recreation in a way that improves our communities' quality of life; and

WHEREAS, BMO Harris Bank, with the leadership of Mary Jo Herseth, has been a Title Sponsor of the event for three years; and

WHEREAS, CSX Transportation, with the leadership of Tom Livingston, has been a Title Sponsor of the event for three years, in addition to being a major donor for youth programming since 2013;

WHEREAS, The Pizzo Group, with the leadership of Jack Pizzo, has grown its high-level sponsorship of the event over four years; and

WHEREAS, the winners of the Conservation Cup tournament enhance the spirit and success of the event in addition to their financial support. In 2012, the winners were Cook County Commissioner Timothy Schneider and his guests, Casey Schneider, Josh Kopa and Dan Langland. The Pizzo Group won the tournament in 2013 and 2014, with golfers Jack Pizzo and Jake Hagelow both years, Tim Moritz and Nick Zaluzec in 2013, and Joe Pizzo and Seth Crackel in 2014. In 2015, MB Financial won the tournament with a foursome comprised of Sean Patrick Durkin, Robert K. Thompson, John Larson, and Bernie Carroll;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, Toni Preckwinkle, President, the Forest Preserve District of Cook County Board of Commissioners and Arnold Randall, General Superintendent, do hereby thank

File #: 15-0631, Version: 2

and congratulate the 2015 Conservation Cup Host Committee, The Pizzo Group, BMO Harris Bank, CSX Transportation, MB Financial, for their combined contributions to the tremendous success of the Annual Conservation Cup; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that twenty-seven copies of this resolution be sent to the Forest Preserve Foundation office for distribution to the individuals being honored.

Sponsors: TONI PRECKWINKLE (President)

Indexes:

Code sections:

Attachments:

Date	Ver.	Action By	Action	Result
11/17/2015	2	FPD Board of Commissioners	approve	Pass

PROPOSED RESOLUTION

HONORING THE FOREST PRESERVE FOUNDATION'S 2015 MAJOR SPONSORS AND HOST COMMITTEE OF THE ANNUAL CONSERVATION CUP GOLF BENEFIT

WHEREAS, the 2015 Conservation Cup Host Committee was comprised of Mary Jo Herseth and Jackie Loewe, Chairs, and Marilyn Bush, Sean Patrick Durkin, Brian Dober, Tom Livingston, Josh Proctor, Mark Lester, Jered Weiland, and Claire Williams, members; and

WHEREAS, co-chairs Jackie Loewe and Mary Jo Herseth, co-chaired the Conservation Cup Host Committee, and have done so for three consecutive years, each time ensuring that the event would raise significant resources to support Forest Preserves of Cook County programs. Jackie Lowie, who also serves as a member of the Forest Preserve Foundation, and Mary Jo Herseth worked tirelessly to secure extensive event sponsorships and donations and have dedicated numerous volunteer hours in support of the Foundation's mission; and

WHEREAS, all of the members of the 2015 Conservation Cup Host Committee contributed significantly to efforts which raised \$168,000, which is the highest amount raised by this golf benefit since its inception in 2012. They accomplished this by building and strengthening relationships with private organizations throughout Cook County; and

WHEREAS, the proceeds from the Conservation Cup support programs in the Forest Preserves of Cook County that engage and connect our citizens through nature education, exploration, restoration and recreation in a way that improves our communities' quality of life; and

WHEREAS, BMO Harris Bank, with the leadership of Mary Jo Herseth, has been a Title Sponsor of the event for three years; and

WHEREAS, CSX Transportation, with the leadership of Tom Livingston, has been a Title Sponsor of the event for three years, in addition to being a major donor for youth programming since 2013;

WHEREAS, The Pizzo Group, with the leadership of Jack Pizzo, has grown its high-level sponsorship of the event over four years; and

WHEREAS, the winners of the Conservation Cup tournament enhance the spirit and success of the event in addition to their financial support. In 2012, the winners were Cook County Commissioner Timothy Schneider and his guests, Casey Schneider, Josh Kopa and Dan Langland. The Pizzo Group won the tournament in 2013 and 2014, with golfers Jack Pizzo and Jake Hagelow both years, Tim Moritz and Nick Zaluzec in 2013, and Joe Pizzo and Seth Crackel in 2014. In 2015, MB Financial won the tournament with a foursome comprised of Sean Patrick Durkin, Robert K. Thompson, John Larson, and Bernie Carroll;

File #: 15-0631, Version: 2

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, Toni Preckwinkle, President, the Forest Preserve District of Cook County Board of Commissioners and Arnold Randall, General Superintendent, do hereby thank and congratulate the 2015 Conservation Cup Host Committee, The Pizzo Group, BMO Harris Bank, CSX Transportation, MB Financial, for their combined contributions to the tremendous success of the Annual Conservation Cup; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that twenty-seven copies of this resolution be sent to the Forest Preserve Foundation office for distribution to the individuals being honored.