

Forest Preserve District of Cook County

118 North Clark Chicago, IL 60602

Legislation Details (With Text)

File #: 14-0531 Version: 1 Name: THE FOREST PRESERVE DISTRICT OF COOK

COUNTY CONSERVATION AND POLICY

COUNCIL MEMBERS

Type: Consent Calendar Resolution Status: Approved

File created: 10/30/2014 In control: FPD Board of Commissioners

On agenda: 11/18/2014 Final action: 11/18/2014

Title: PROPOSED RESOLUTION

the FOREST PRESERVE DISTRICT OF COOK COUNTY conservation and policy council members

WHEREAS, in recognition of the need for a renewed vision for the Forest Preserve District of Cook County (the "District), on February 18, 2014, the Forest Preserve District Board of Commissioners adopted the Next Century Conservation Plan (the "Plan"); and,

WHEREAS, the Plan, which was developed by a team of civic leaders, organizations and District staff to map the District's strategic conservation vision for the next 100 years, calls for transforming the forest preserves to places that foster diversity of plants, animals and habitats and welcome diverse people, and;

WHEREAS, the Plan also calls for the creation of a Conservation and Policy Council to provide continuous conservation leadership and expertise to the President, Board of Commissioners, and General Superintendent of the District; and

WHEREAS, an ordinance to establish the Conservation and Policy Council was approved by the Forest Preserve District Board of Commissioners, on September 9, 2014; and

WHEREAS, a Nominating Committee was selected by the President to recommend Conservation and Policy Council members based on the criteria establish in Section 1-18-3 of the District's Code of Ordinances; and

WHEREAS, the following individuals representing organizations with a focus in habitat conservation, public policy, and government finance were selected to serve on the Nominating Committee; and

Co-Chairs

- Jerry Adelmann, President and CEO, Openlands
- Benjamin Cox, President and CEO, Friends of the Forest Preserves

Members

- Brian Fabes, CEO, Civic Consulting Alliance
- Lori Healey, CEO, Tur Partners
- Michael Howard, Deputy Director, Illinois Department of Natural of Natural Resources

WHEREAS, the Nominating Committee submitted a list of qualified candidates to the President, reflecting the geographic and demographic diversity of the County, and with expertise in fields that support the mission of protecting the plants and animals that call Cook County home; and that contribute to the programs, services and stewardship of the Forest Preserves; and

WHEREAS, the President requests that the Board of Commissioners approve the following eleven individuals to serve on the inaugural Conservation and Policy Council:

Chair:

File #: 14-0531, Version: 1

Wendy Paulson, President, Bobolink Foundation

Ex-Officio Member:

To be determined

Members:

- · Robert Castaneda, Executive Director, Beyond the Ball
- Michael DeSantiago, Founder, President & CEO, Primera Engineers, LTD.
- Peter Ellis, Partner, ReedSmith LLP
- Terry Guen, President and Principal, Terry Guen Design Associates
- Sylvia M. Jenkins, Ph. D. President, Moraine Valley Community College
- Falona Joy, President, SNP Strategies
- · Linda Mastandrea, Attorney at Law
- Laurel Ross, Former Director of Urban Conservation, Field Museum
- · Mark N. Templeton, Director, Abrams Environmental Law Clinic at the University of Chicago;

NOW, THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED, that the President and the Forest Preserve District of Cook County Board of Commissioners do hereby appoint the above individuals to serve as members of the Conservation and Policy Council to provide support and advice to the President, Board of Commissioners and the General Superintendent in order to advance the goals and priorities outlined in the Next Century Conservation Plan.

Sponsors:

TONI PRECKWINKLE (President)

Indexes:

Code sections:

Attachments:

| Date | Ver. | Action By | Action | Result |
|------------|------|----------------------------|---------|--------|
| 11/18/2014 | 1 | FPD Board of Commissioners | approve | Pass |

PROPOSED RESOLUTION

THE FOREST PRESERVE DISTRICT OF COOK COUNTY CONSERVATION AND POLICY COUNCIL MEMBERS

WHEREAS, in recognition of the need for a renewed vision for the Forest Preserve District of Cook County (the "District), on February 18, 2014, the Forest Preserve District Board of Commissioners adopted the Next Century Conservation Plan (the "Plan"); and,

WHEREAS, the Plan, which was developed by a team of civic leaders, organizations and District staff to map the District's strategic conservation vision for the next 100 years, calls for transforming the forest preserves to places that foster diversity of plants, animals and habitats and welcome diverse people, and;

WHEREAS, the Plan also calls for the creation of a Conservation and Policy Council to provide continuous conservation leadership and expertise to the President, Board of Commissioners, and General Superintendent of the District; and

WHEREAS, an ordinance to establish the Conservation and Policy Council was approved by the Forest Preserve District Board of Commissioners, on September 9, 2014; and

WHEREAS, a Nominating Committee was selected by the President to recommend Conservation and Policy Council members based on the criteria establish in Section 1-18-3 of the District's Code of Ordinances; and

WHEREAS, the following individuals representing organizations with a focus in habitat conservation, public policy, and

File #: 14-0531, Version: 1

government finance were selected to serve on the Nominating Committee; and

Co-Chairs

- Jerry Adelmann, President and CEO, Openlands
- Benjamin Cox, President and CEO, Friends of the Forest Preserves

Members

- Brian Fabes, CEO, Civic Consulting Alliance
- Lori Healey, CEO, Tur Partners
- Michael Howard, Deputy Director, Illinois Department of Natural of Natural Resources

WHEREAS, the Nominating Committee submitted a list of qualified candidates to the President, reflecting the geographic and demographic diversity of the County, and with expertise in fields that support the mission of protecting the plants and animals that call Cook County home; and that contribute to the programs, services and stewardship of the Forest Preserves; and

WHEREAS, the President requests that the Board of Commissioners approve the following eleven individuals to serve on the inaugural Conservation and Policy Council:

Chair:

• Wendy Paulson, President, Bobolink Foundation

Ex-Officio Member:

• To be determined

Members:

- Robert Castaneda, Executive Director, Beyond the Ball
- Michael DeSantiago, Founder, President & CEO, Primera Engineers, LTD.
- Peter Ellis, Partner, ReedSmith LLP
- Terry Guen, President and Principal, Terry Guen Design Associates
- Sylvia M. Jenkins, Ph. D, President, Moraine Valley Community College
- Falona Joy, President, SNP Strategies
- Linda Mastandrea, Attorney at Law
- Laurel Ross, Former Director of Urban Conservation, Field Museum
- Mark N. Templeton, Director, Abrams Environmental Law Clinic at the University of Chicago;

NOW, THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED, that the President and the Forest Preserve District of Cook County Board of Commissioners do hereby appoint the above individuals to serve as members of the Conservation and Policy Council to provide support and advice to the President, Board of Commissioners and the General Superintendent in order to advance the goals and priorities outlined in the Next Century Conservation Plan.