

## Forest Preserve District of Cook County

118 North Clark Chicago, IL 60602

## **Legislation Details**

File #: 19-0188 Version: 1 Name: RECOGNIZING THE DEDICATION OF WAMPUM

LAKE AS AN ILLINOIS NATURE PRESERVE BY

THE ILLINOIS NATURE PRESERVES

COMMISSION

**Type:** Resolution **Status:** Approved

File created: 2/25/2019 In control: FPD Board of Commissioners

Title: PROPOSED RESOLUTION

RECOGNIZING THE DEDICATION OF WAMPUM LAKE AS AN ILLINOIS NATURE PRESERVE BY

THE ILLINOIS NATURE PRESERVES COMMISSION

WHEREAS, on January 29, 2019, at the 231st meeting of the Illinois Nature Preserves Commission,

Wampum Lake was approved for dedication as an Illinois Nature Preserve; and

WHEREAS, dedication of a site as a Nature Preserve provides the highest level of protection for land in Illinois, and is granted only to natural areas of exceptional ecological or cultural significance; and

WHEREAS, Wampum Lake Nature Preserve is an approximately 380 acre preserve located in the Village of Thornton in southeast Cook County; and

WHEREAS, the site consists of unusual natural communities such as sand seep, sand savanna, and open floodplain as well as contains important cultural resources further meriting its dedication and protection; and

WHEREAS, authority to submit this addition for registration was granted by the Board of Commissioners on October 16, 2018 pursuant to Section 9 of the Cook County Forest Preserve District Act (70 ILCS 810/9); and

WHEREAS, with the dedication of Wampum Lake Nature Preserve, the Forest Preserves of Cook County now owns and manages 24 dedicated Illinois Nature Preserves and 4 Land and Water Reserves totaling approximately 8,400 acres; and

WHEREAS, dedication of Wampum Lake as an Illinois Nature Preserve advances the goal set forward in the Next Century Conservation Plan to dedicate 20,000 acres as Illinois Nature Preserve protected land by 2025, and is consistent with the recommendations of the Natural and Cultural Resources Master Plan;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that the Forest Preserves of Cook County Board of Commissioners does hereby acknowledge this momentous dedication and the Forest Preserves' steadfast commitment to protect and restore our region's significant natural resources...end

Sponsors: TONI PRECKWINKLE (President), ALMA E. ANAYA, LUIS ARROYO JR., SCOTT R. BRITTON,

JOHN P. DALEY, BRIDGET DEGNEN, BILL LOWRY, DONNA MILLER, STANLEY MOORE, KEVIN B. MORRISON, SEAN M. MORRISON, PETER N. SILVESTRI, DEBORAH SIMS, LARRY SUFFREDIN,

JEFFREY R. TOBOLSKI

Indexes:

**Code sections:** 

Attachments:

Date	Ver. Action By	Action	Result
------	----------------	--------	--------

File #: 19-0188, Version: 1

3/19/2019 1 FPD Board of Commissioners