

# Forest Preserve District of Cook County Board of Commissioners

### Minutes of the Capital Development Committee

Tuesday, June 14, 2022

9:30 AM

Virtual Meeting

# ATTENDANCE

Present: Arroyo, Sims, Britton, Deer, Johnson, Moore, Morrison, Morrison and Silvestri (9)

## PUBLIC TESTIMONY

Chairman Arroyo asked the Secretary to the Board to call upon the registered public speakers, in accordance with Forest Preserves Code of Ordinances, Section 1-5-4.

### No public speakers

## 22-0300

#### **COMMITTEE MINUTES**

Approval of the minutes from the meeting of 12/14/2021

A motion was made by Vice Chair Sims, seconded by Commissioner Silvestri, to approve 22-0300. The motion carried by the following vote:

Ayes: Arroyo, Sims, Britton, Deer, Johnson, Moore, Morrison, Morrison and Silvestri (9)

22-0248

Presented by: ARNOLD RANDALL, General Superintendent

#### REPORT

**Department:** Department of Planning and Development

**Request:** Receive and File

Report Title: Trail Capital Plan & Guiding Principles

#### Report Period: N/A

**Summary:** Trails are one of the Forest Preserves' greatest assets. This report builds on the Forest Preserves' 2014 *Trail Master Plan* and supports the goals of the pending Cook County Bike Plan. It includes new information on existing trail condition along with key recommendations for maintaining, upgrading and expanding the current system. New guiding principles emphasize the need to invest more capital funding in maintenance while continuing to update the system to address new challenges, fill in gaps in the regional system and expand access to forest preserve trails in a strategic way.

A motion was made by Vice Chair Sims, seconded by Commissioner Silvestri, to receive and filed 22-0248. The motion carried by the following vote:

Ayes: Arroyo, Sims, Britton, Deer, Johnson, Moore, Morrison, Morrison and Silvestri (9)

#### ADJOURNMENT

A motion was made by Commissioner Johnson, seconded by Vice Chair Sims, to adjourn. The motion carried by the following vote:

Ayes: Arroyo, Sims, Britton, Deer, Johnson, Moore, Morrison, Morrison and Silvestri (9)

Respectfully submitted,

Juin anoy k

Lynne M. Jurner

Chairman

Secretary

A complete record of this meeting is available at https://fpdcc.legistar.com.