

Forest Preserve District of Cook County Board of Commissioners

Minutes of the Real Estate Committee

Tuesday, September 11, 2018

10:30 AM

Cook County Building, Board Room 118 North Clark Street, Chicago, Illinois

ATTENDANCE

Present: Moody, Moore, Arroyo, Boykin, Butler, Daley, Deer, Fritchey, Gainer, Goslin, Morrison, Schneider, Silvestri, Sims, Suffredin and Tobolski (16)

Absent: García (1)

PUBLIC TESTIMONY

Chairman Moody asked the Secretary to the Board to call upon the registered public speakers, in accordance with Cook County Code, Sec. 2-107(dd)

1. George Blakemore - Concerned Citizen

18-0374

COMMITTEE MINUTES

Approval of the minutes from the meeting of 4/24/2018

A motion was made by Commissioner Tobolski, seconded by Commissioner Daley, to approve 18-0374. The motion carried by the following vote:

Ayes: Moody, Moore, Arroyo, Boykin, Butler, Daley, Deer, Fritchey, Gainer, Goslin, Morrison, Schneider, Silvestri, Sims, Suffredin and Tobolski (16)

Absent: García (1)

17-0178

Sponsored by: TONI PRECKWINKLE (President), LUIS ARROYO JR., RICHARD R. BOYKIN, JERRY BUTLER, JOHN P. DALEY, DENNIS DEER, JOHN A. FRITCHEY, BRIDGET GAINER, GREGG GOSLIN, EDWARD M. MOODY, STANLEY MOORE, SEAN M. MORRISON, TIMOTHY O. SCHNEIDER, PETER N. SILVESTRI, DEBORAH SIMS, LARRY SUFFREDIN and JEFFREY R. TOBOLSKI, Forest Preserve District of Cook County Board of Commissioners

PROPOSED RESOLUTION

RESOLUTION TO OFFICIALLY RECOGNIZE AND ADOPT NAMES OF FOREST PRESERVE LANDS AND AMENITIES

WHEREAS, the Forest Preserves of Cook County (the "Preserves") recognizes the need to protect the natural and cultural history reflected in the names of the groves, trails, nature preserves, natural areas, facilities, and other public places (the "Venues") owned or controlled by the Preserves. The Preserves seeks to ensure that these names are accurately represented so the residents of Cook County can easily find the Venues and the amenities they offer; and

WHEREAS, in 2015, an internal Naming Committee was charged with discerning the correct and official names of all Venues and reviewing requests for the purpose of determining which naming requests to recommend to the Board of Commissioners of the Preserves (the "Board") for approval; and

WHEREAS, the internal Naming Committee undertook an exhaustive review of the Venues to determine which names had been formally adopted by the Board, were in common use, or had been abandoned; and

WHEREAS, the internal Naming Committee compiled a comprehensive list of the various names associated with the Venues; and

WHEREAS, based upon the findings of the internal Naming Committee, it is recommended that the Board reaffirm those names previously adopted by the Board for approximately 145 Venues as reflected in Category 1 of the list of Venues provided as backup documentation to the Board in support of this resolution (the "Venue List"); and

WHEREAS, it is also recommended that the Board officially adopt those names not previously adopted, but that enjoy broad recognition among the general public, the Preserves, and other agencies that are separately identified in Category 2 of the Venue List; and

WHEREAS, it is further recommended that the Board officially retire those names, which also are identified in Category 3 of the Venue List, that, notwithstanding whether such names were ever adopted by the Board, have been abandoned, are no longer in use, or have been replaced with other names, in order to avoid future confusion.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that President Toni Preckwinkle, the Forest Preserve District Board of Commissioners, and General Superintendent Arnold Randall do hereby recognize that the presented list of names of Venues identified as such on the Venue List, represents the official names of the corresponding Venues and adopts the recommendations stated above.

A motion was made by Commissioner Silvestri, seconded by Commissioner Sims, to approve 17-0178. The motion carried by the following vote:

Ayes: Moody, Moore, Arroyo, Boykin, Butler, Daley, Deer, Fritchey, Gainer, Goslin, Morrison, Schneider, Silvestri, Sims, Suffredin and Tobolski (16)

Absent: García (1)

ADJOURNMENT

A motion was made by Commissioner Butler, seconded by Commissioner Deer, to adjourn the meeting. The motion carried by the following vote:

Ayes: Moody, Moore, Arroyo, Boykin, Butler, Daley, Deer, Fritchey, Gainer, Goslin, Morrison, Schneider, Silvestri, Sims, Suffredin and Tobolski (16)

Absent: García (1)

- 18.2

Secretary

Chairman

A complete record of this meeting is available at https://fpdcc.legistar.com.