

Forest Preserve District of Cook County Board of Commissioners

Minutes of the Legislation and Intergovernmental Relations

Tuesday, June 27, 2023	9:30 AM	Cook County Building, Board Room,
		118 North Clark Street, Chicago, Illinois

ATTENDANCE

Present:Britton, Degnen, Aguilar, Anaya, Daley, Gainer, Gordon, Lowry, Miller, Morita,
Morrison, Morrison, Quezada, Stamps and Trevor (15)

Absent: Deer and Moore (2)

PUBLIC TESTIMONY

Chairman Britton asked the Secretary to the Board to call upon the registered public speakers, in accordance with Forest Preserves Code of Ordinances, Section 1-5-4.

No public speakers

23-0431

COMMITTEE MINUTES

Approval of the minutes from the meeting of 4/25/2023

A motion was made by Vice Chairperson Degnen, seconded by Commissioner Daley, to approve 23-0431. The motion carried by the following vote:

Ayes:Britton, Degnen, Aguilar, Anaya, Daley, Gainer, Gordon, Lowry, Miller, Morita,
Morrison, Morrison, Quezada, Stamps and Trevor (15)

Absent: Deer and Moore (2)

<u>23-0378</u>

PROPOSED APPOINTMENT

Appointee(s): Damon Howell

Position: Treasurer

Department/Board/Commission: Forest Preserves of Cook County

Effective date: Immediate

Summary: Pursuant to Section 1-6-9 (Personnel Provisions) of the Forest Preserves of Cook County Code of Ordinances, Mr. Damon Howell is hereby appointed to the position of Treasurer of the Forest Preserves of Cook County. Per the Forest Preserves Code of Ordinances, Section 1-6-3-A, the Treasurer is also considered the Chief Financial Officer of the Forest Preserves.

Mr. Howell has a bachelor's degree in Accounting and Business Management from Augusta College and a Master of Science degree in Accounting from Governor's State University.

Mr. Howell has held various positions in the finance field, including Acting Treasurer and Interim Chief Financial Officer since April, Comptroller of the Forest Preserves since 2019 and Field Auditor in the Office of the Cook County Auditor from 2001 until 2019.

A motion was made by Vice Chairperson Degnen, seconded by Commissioner Quezada, to approve 23-0378. The motion carried by the following vote:

Ayes:Britton, Degnen, Aguilar, Anaya, Daley, Gainer, Gordon, Lowry, Miller, Morita,
Morrison, Morrison, Quezada, Stamps and Trevor (15)

Absent: Deer and Moore (2)

ADJOURNMENT

A motion was made by Vice Chairperson Degnen, seconded by Commissioner Gordon, to adjourn. The motion carried by the following vote:

Ayes:Britton, Degnen, Aguilar, Anaya, Daley, Gainer, Gordon, Lowry, Miller, Morita,
Morrison, Morrison, Quezada, Stamps and Trevor (15)

Legislation and Intergovernmental Relations

Absent: Deer and Moore (2)

Respectfully submitted,

Syspatter

Lynne M. Jurner

Chairman Britton

Secretary

A complete record of this meeting is available at <u>https://fpdcc.legistar.com</u>.