

# Forest Preserve District of Cook County Board of Commissioners

## Minutes of the Legislation and Intergovernmental Relations

Tuesday, April 25, 2023

9:30 AM

Cook County Building, Board Room, 118 North Clark Street, Chicago, Illinois

## **ATTENDANCE**

Present: Britton, Degnen, Aguilar, Anaya, Daley, Deer, Gainer, Gordon, Lowry, Miller, Morita,

K. Morrison, S. Morrison, Quezada and Trevor (15)

**Absent:** Johnson and Moore (2)

A motion was made by Vice Chairperson Degnen, seconded by Commissioner Lowry, to allow for remote participation in meeting. The motion carried by the following vote:

Ayes: Britton, Degnen, Aguilar, Anaya, Daley, Deer, Gainer, Gordon, Lowry, Miller, Morita,

Morrison, Morrison, Quezada and Trevor (15)

**Absent:** Johnson and Moore (2)

### **PUBLIC TESTIMONY**

Chairman Britton asked the Secretary to the Board to call upon the registered public speakers, in accordance with Forest Preserves Code of Ordinances, Section 1-5-4.

## 1. George Blakemore

#### 23-0314

## **COMMITTEE MINUTES**

Approval of the minutes from the meeting of 02/07/2023

A motion was made by Vice Chairperson Degnen, seconded by Commissioner Gordon, to approve 23-0314. The motion carried by the following vote:

Ayes: Britton, Degnen, Aguilar, Anaya, Daley, Deer, Gainer, Gordon, Lowry, Miller, Morita,

Morrison, Morrison, Quezada and Trevor (15)

**Absent:** Johnson and Moore (2)

23-0230

**Sponsored by:** TONI PRECKWINKLE (President), Forest Preserve District of Cook County Board of Commissioners

#### PROPOSED RESOLUTION

#### RESOLUTION CREATING THE DECENNIAL COMMITTEE

**WHEREAS**, on June 10, 2022, the Decennial Committees on Local Government Efficiency Act (50 ILCS 70/1 et seq) (the "Act") became effective and placed certain requirements on the Forest Preserves of Cook County Board of Commissioners (the "Board"), including the formation of a Decennial Committee by June 10, 2023; and

WHEREAS, the purpose of such committee would be to study the Forest Preserves of Cook County's governing statutes, ordinances, rules, procedures, powers, jurisdiction, shared services, intergovernmental agreements, and interrelationships with other governmental units and the State; and

WHEREAS, no later than eighteen (18) months after the formation of the Decennial Committee, the Committee shall provide a report to the Cook County Board of Commissioners and such report shall include recommendations in respect to increased accountability and efficiency; and

WHEREAS, according to the Act, the Decennial Committee is to be chaired by the President of the Forest Preserves of Cook County Board of Commissioners or the President's designee and shall include the following individuals: (1) the seventeen (17) Forest Preserves of Cook County Commissioners; (2) at least two (2) Cook County residents to be appointed by the President, with the advice and consent of the Board; (3) any chief executive officer or other officer of the Forest Preserves; and (4) additional persons as appointed by the Chair; and

WHEREAS, per Title 1, Chapter 5, Section 1-5-2, Subsection 2-5 of the Forest Preserves of Cook County Code of Ordinances, the Board may create special committees by resolution adopted by a

majority of those elected and the appointed members of a special committee shall be designated by resolution.

**NOW THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED**, that the Forest Preserves of Cook County Board of Commissioners hereby creates a Decennial Committee for the purpose of undertaking the tasks enumerated under the Act; and

**BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED**, that the Committee Chair shall be the Chair of the Legislation and Intergovernmental Relations Committee, <u>Commissioner</u> Scott Britton, as the President's designee for the Decennial Committee; and

**BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED**, the Decennial Committee members shall include: (1) Forest Preserves of Cook County Commissioners, (2) General Superintendent Arnold Randall, (3) two Cook County residents, Alan Bell and Mark Templeton, who also serve as members of the Conservation and Policy Council, to be appointed by the President, with the advice and consent of the Board, and (4) any additional persons to be appointed by the Chair; and

<u>BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED</u>, that the first meeting of the Decennial Committee shall be 9:30 AM on Tuesday, May 23, 2023 at Sagawau Environmental Learning Center, 12545 West 111th Street in Lemont; and

**BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED**, that the Decennial Committee shall sunset on December 31, 2024, however, it shall be reestablished on a decennial basis with newly appointed members.

A motion was made by Vice Chairperson Degnen, seconded by Commissioner Anaya, to approve as amended 23-0230. The motion carried by the following vote:

Ayes: Britton, Degnen, Aguilar, Anaya, Daley, Deer, Gainer, Gordon, Lowry, Miller, Morita,

Morrison, Morrison, Quezada and Trevor (15)

**Absent:** Johnson and Moore (2)

23-0274

**Sponsored by:** KEVIN B. MORRISON, Forest Preserve District of Cook County Board of Commissioners

PROPOSED ORDINANCE AMENDMENT

COOK COUNTY LAND ACKNOWLEDGEMENT

Sec. 2-107. - Board of Commissioners; meetings of the Board.

(i) Order of business.

- (1) At each regular meeting of the Board, the order of business (unless otherwise directed by the Board) is as follows:
  - a. Public testimony.
  - b. New business.
  - c. Committee items requiring board action.
- (2) All questions relating to the priority of business shall be decided by the presiding officer, without debate, subject to appeal.
- (3) Meetings of the Board may commence with a prayer or invocation and the Pledge of Allegiance
- (4) The County Board shall break for lunch from Noon to 12:45 p.m. or as soon as is practical thereafter on days of the Meeting of the Board of Commissioners, Committees, and Subcommittees.
- (5) The County Board shall commence full Board of Commissioner meetings with a Native American Land Acknowledgement that has had input from Native American residents of Cook County

Effective date: This ordinance shall be in effect immediately upon adoption

A motion was made by Commissioner Morrison, seconded by Commissioner Quezada, to accept a substitute 23-0274. The motion carried by the following vote:

Ayes: Britton, Degnen, Aguilar, Anaya, Daley, Deer, Gainer, Gordon, Lowry, Miller, Morita,

Morrison, Morrison, Quezada and Trevor (15)

**Absent:** Johnson and Moore (2)

A motion was made by Commissioner Morrison, seconded by Commissioner Quezada, to approve as substituted 23-0274. The motion carried by the following vote:

Ayes: Britton, Degnen, Aguilar, Anaya, Daley, Deer, Gainer, Gordon, Lowry, Miller, Morita,

Morrison, Morrison, Quezada and Trevor (15)

**Absent:** Johnson and Moore (2)

Lynne M. Jurier

## **ADJOURNMENT**

A motion was made by Vice Chairperson Degnen, seconded by Commissioner Daley, to adjourn. The motion carried by the following vote:

Ayes: Britton, Degnen, Aguilar, Anaya, Daley, Deer, Gainer, Gordon, Lowry, Miller, Morita,

Morrison, Morrison, Quezada and Trevor (15)

**Absent:** Johnson and Moore (2)

Respectfully submitted,

Sugaratters

Chairman Secretary

A complete record of this meeting is available at <a href="https://fpdcc.legistar.com">https://fpdcc.legistar.com</a>.