

# Forest Preserve District of Cook County Board of Commissioners

### Journal of Proceedings of the FPD Board of Commissioners

Monday, December 5, 2022

9:40 AM

Cook County Building, Board Room, 118
North Clark Street, Chicago, Illinois
(Board Room Closed to Public - Meeting
Virtual for Public)

#### **Special Board Meeting**

## **ATTENDANCE**

**Present:** Aguilar, Anaya, Britton, Daley, Deer, Degnen, Gainer, Gordon, Johnson, Lowry,

Miller, Moore, Morita, Morrison, Morrison, Quezada and Trevor (17)

A motion was made by Commissioner Lowry, seconded by Commissioner Britton, to allow for remote participation in meeting. The motion carried by the following vote:

Ayes: Aguilar, Anaya, Britton, Daley, Deer, Degnen, Gainer, Gordon, Johnson, Lowry,

Miller, Moore, Morita, Morrison, Morrison, Quezada and Trevor (17)

#### **PUBLIC TESTIMONY**

#### 1. George Blakemore

# **PRESIDENT**

22-0542

**Sponsored by:** TONI PRECKWINKLE (President) and JOHN P. DALEY, Forest Preserve District of Cook County Board of Commissioners

#### PROPOSED ORDINANCE AMENDMENT

RULES OF ORGANIZATION AND PROCEDURE FOR THE FOREST PRESERVE DISTRICT OF COOK COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS

BE IT ORDAINED, by the Forest Preserve District of Cook County Board of Commissioners, that Title

1 - ADMINISTRATIVE, Chapter 5 - FOREST PRESERVE DISTRICT PRESIDENT AND BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS RULES OF ORGANIZATION AND PROCEDURE is hereby amended and restated as follows:

# CHAPTER 5 - FOREST PRESERVE DISTRICT PRESIDENT AND BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS RULES OF ORGANIZATION AND PROCEDURE

**1-5-1: - DEFINITIONS.** 

1-5-2: - ORGANIZATION.

1-5-3: - BUDGET MATTERS.

1-5-4: - PARLIAMENTARY RULES.

1-5-5: - [Reserved for Procedures Relating to Revenue Matters]

1-5-6: - INTERPRETATION, FORCE AND EFFECT.

**1-5-7: - TRANSITION** 

Effective date: This ordinance shall be in effect immediately upon adoption.

Full text of ordinance amendment can be found here: <a href="http://tiny.cc/xcj1vz">http://tiny.cc/xcj1vz</a>

A motion was made by Commissioner Lowry, seconded by Commissioner Deer, to approve 22-0542. The motion carried by the following vote:

Ayes: Aguilar, Anaya, Britton, Daley, Deer, Degnen, Gainer, Gordon, Johnson, Lowry,

Miller, Moore, Morita, Morrison, Morrison, Quezada and Trevor (17)

#### 22-0544

**Sponsored by:** TONI PRECKWINKLE (President), BILL LOWRY and JOHN P. DALEY, Forest Preserve District of Cook County Board of Commissioners

## PROPOSED RESOLUTION

APPOINTMENT OF PRESIDENT PRO TEMPORE, CHAIRS AND VICE-CHAIRS OF THE **STANDING COMMITTEES** AND **SUBCOMMITTEES** AND **MEMBERS** OF **STANDING** AND COMMITTEES SUBCOMMITTEES OF THE FOREST PRESERVE DISTRICT COOK COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS

**BE IT RESOLVED** BY THE FOREST PRESERVE DISTRICT BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS, that, effective upon passage, the following Commissioners are designated and appointed as President Pro Tempore, Chairpersons and Vice-Chairpersons of the Standing Committees and Subcommittees of the

Board.

**Section 1.** The President Pro Tempore of the Forest Preserve District of Cook County Board of Commissioners shall be Commissioner Daley.

**Section 2.** The Chair, Vice-Chair and members of the committees and of the subcommittees of the Forest Preserve District of Cook County Board of Commissioners shall be as follows:

AUDIT (7 members)

Chair: Degnen
Vice-Chair: S. Morrison

Members: Aguilar, Anaya, Britton, Lowry, Miller

BOTANIC GARDEN (9 members)
Chair: Britton
Vice-Chair: Morita

Members: Anaya, Daley, Deer, Gordon, Johnson, K. Morrison, S. Morrison

CAPITAL DEVELOPMENT AND ECOLOGICAL RESTORATION (9)

Chair: Miller Vice-Chair: Johnson

Members: Anaya, Britton, Gordon, Moore, Morita, K. Morrison, S. Morrison

CONTRACT COMPLIANCE (9 members)

Chair: Miller Vice-Chair: Quezada

Members: Anaya, Deer, Degnen, Johnson, Lowry, Moore, K. Morrison

ENVIRONMENT AND SUSTAINABILITY (7 members)

Chair: Degnen Vice-Chair: Morita

Members: Britton, Miller, K. Morrison, Quezada, Trevor

FINANCE (Committee of the Whole)
Chair: Lowry
Vice-Chair: Deer

Members: All Board Members

Finance Subcommittee on Litigation (7 members)

Chair: Britton Vice-Chair: Lowry

Members: Degnen, Johnson, Morita, S. Morrison, Trevor

FINANCE SUBCOMMITTEE ON WORKERS' COMPENSATION (5 members)

Chair: S. Morrison

Vice-Chair: Trevor

Members: Gordon, Morita, Quezada

LABOR (9 members)

Chair: Anaya Vice Chair: Johnson

Members: Aguilar, Degnen, Lowry, Miller, Moore, K. Morrison, Quezada

LAW ENFORCEMENT (7 members)
Chair: Moore
Vice-Chair: Aguilar

Members: Britton, Johnson, Miller, K. Morrison, S. Morrison

LEGISLATION AND INTERGOVERNMENTAL

RELATIONS (Committee of the Whole)
Chair: Britton
Vice-Chair: Degnen

Members: All Board Members

PENSION (7 members)

Chair: Gainer Vice-Chair: Anaya

Members: Daley, Johnson, Miller, K. Morrison. Trevor

REAL ESTATE (Committee of the Whole)

Chair: Anaya Vice-Chair: Moore

Members: All Board Members

RECREATION AND ENGAGEMENT (7 members)

Chair: S. Morrison Vice-Chair: Johnson

Members: Aguilar, Anaya, Miller, K. Morrison, Quezada

RULES AND ADMINISTRATION (9 members)

Chair: Lowry Vice-Chair: Degnen

Members: Anaya, Britton, Daley, Deer, Miller, Morita, S. Morrison

ZOOLOGICAL (9 members)

Chair: K. Morrison Vice-Chair: Moore

Members: Aguilar, Daley, Deer, Miller, S. Morrison, Quezada, Trevor

A motion was made by Commissioner Lowry, seconded by Commissioner Deer, to approve

22-0544. The motion carried by the following vote:

Ayes: Aguilar, Anaya, Britton, Daley, Deer, Degnen, Gainer, Gordon, Johnson, Lowry,

Miller, Moore, Morita, Morrison, Morrison, Quezada and Trevor (17)

22-0545

Presented by: ARNOLD RANDALL, General Superintendent

#### PROPOSED APPOINTMENT

Appointee(s): Commissioner Josina Morita

**Position:** *Ex-Officio* member

Department/Board/Commission: Conservation and Policy Council

Effective date: Immediate

**Expiration date:** This appointment shall remain for the length of the Commissioner's current term of office with the Forest Preserve District of Cook County Board of Commissioners.

A motion was made by Commissioner Lowry, seconded by Commissioner Deer, to approve 22-0545. The motion carried by the following vote:

Ayes: Aguilar, Anaya, Britton, Daley, Deer, Degnen, Gainer, Gordon, Johnson, Lowry,

Miller, Moore, Morita, Morrison, Morrison, Quezada and Trevor (17)

#### **ADJOURNMENT**

A motion was made by Commissioner BILL LOWRY, seconded by Commissioner DENNIS DEER, this meeting adjourn. The motion carried by the following vote:

Ayes: Aguilar, Anaya, Britton, Daley, Deer, Degnen, Gainer, Gordon, Johnson, Lowry,

Miller, Moore, Morita, Morrison, Morrison, Quezada and Trevor (17)

Respectfully submitted,

Lynne M. Turner

Secretary

A complete record of this meeting is available at <a href="https://fpdcc.legistar.com">https://fpdcc.legistar.com</a>.