

To: President Toni Preckwinkle Board of Commissioners

From: Lisa Lee, Chief Attorney

- CC: Arnold Randall, General Superintendent Eileen Figel, Deputy General Superintendent Delio Calzolari, Director of Legislative and Governmental Affairs
- Re: Creation of FPCC Decennial Committee pursuant to new Decennial Committees on Local Government Efficiency Act

Introduction: On June 10, 2022, the Decennial Committees on Local Government Efficiency Act (50 ILCS 70/1 *et seq*) became effective. The Act places certain requirements on the Board of Commissioners of the Forest Preserves of Cook County, **including the formation of a Decennial Committee by June 10, 2023**. Below is a summary of the Act's purpose and requirements.

Statutory Application: The Act applies to all units of local government that may levy any tax, except municipalities and counties. As a unit of local government that levies taxes, the Forest Preserves of Cook County (the "FPCC") is subject to the requirements of the Act.

Statutory Purpose: The Act requires the formation of a committee to study the FPCC's governing statutes, ordinances, rules, procedures, powers, jurisdiction, shared services, intergovernmental agreements, and interrelationships with other governmental units and the State. The Committee would also be responsible for collecting data, research, and analysis as necessary to prepare a report as required by the Act (see details below).

Decennial Statutory Requirements:

- Committee Members:
 - The President or designee shall chair the Committee.
 - The FPCC committee shall include the following:
 - The 17 Elected Members of the FPCC Board of Commissioners;
 - At least 2 Cook County residents to be appointed by the President, with the advice and consent of the Board;
 - \circ $\;$ Any chief executive officer or other officer of the FPCC; and
 - Additional persons as appointed by the Chair.
 - Committee Action Items:
 - Study local efficiencies and report recommendations regarding efficiencies and increased accountability to the Cook County Board of Commissioners.
 - Hold at least 3 meetings in compliance with the Illinois Open Meetings Act.
 - Survey residents who attend meetings.

TONI PRECKWINKLE President

Board of Commissioners

Frank J. Aguilar Alma E. Anaya Scott R. Britton John P. Daley Dennis Deer **Bridget Degnen Bridget Gainer** Monica Gordon Brandon Johnson **Bill Lowry** Donna Miller Stanley Moore Josina Morita Kevin B. Morrison Sean M. Morrison Anthony J. Quezada Maggie Trevor

General Superintendent

Arnold L. Randall

- Timing Requirements:
 - <u>No later **than 18 months** after the formation of the Committee</u>, provide findings in a report to be provided to the Cook County Board of Commissioners. The report must be made public.
 - Within one year after the effective date of the Act <u>and at least once every 10 years thereafter</u>, the FPCC must form a committee to study local efficiencies and report recommendations regarding efficiencies and increased accountability to the Cook County Board of Commissioners.
- Compensation:
 - Committee members shall serve without compensation but may be reimbursed by the FPCC for their expenses incurred in performing their duties.
- Other Information:
 - The committee will be a public body subject to the Freedom of Information Act.
 - The committee may employ or use the services of specialists in public administration and governmental management and any other trained consultants, analysts, investigators, and assistants it considers appropriate, and it may seek assistance from community colleges and universities as necessary to prepare the required report.
 - \circ $\;$ The Act does not specify enforcement or penalty information.