

FOREST PRESERVE DISTRICT OF COOK COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS

Cook County Building, Board Room, 118 North Clark Street, Chicago, Illinois

Consent Agenda

Tuesday, November 14, 2017, 11:00 AM

17-0406

Sponsored by: TONI PRECKWINKLE (President), LUIS ARROYO JR., RICHARD R. BOYKIN, JERRY BUTLER, JOHN P. DALEY, DENNIS DEER, JOHN A. FRITCHEY, BRIDGET GAINER, JESÚS G. GARCÍA, GREGG GOSLIN, EDWARD M. MOODY, STANLEY MOORE, SEAN M. MORRISON, TIMOTHY O. SCHNEIDER, PETER N. SILVESTRI, DEBORAH SIMS, LARRY SUFFREDIN and JEFFREY R. TOBOLSKI, Forest Preserve District of Cook County Board of Commissioners

PROPOSED RESOLUTION

HONORING THE FOREST PRESERVES OF COOK COUNTY AND THE POPLAR CREEK PRAIRIE STEWARDS FOR RECEIVING A CHICAGO WILDERNESS EXCELLENCE IN ECOLOGICAL RESTORATION AWARD

WHEREAS, on July 27, 2017, the Forest Preserves of Cook County and the Poplar Creek Prairie Stewards were honored with a Platinum Accreditation Excellence in Ecological Restoration Award from Chicago Wilderness for their habitat restoration and management of Shoe Factory Road Prairie Nature Preserve and Carl Hansen Preserve; and

WHEREAS, the Chicago Wilderness Excellence in Ecological Restoration Awards showcase the region's best examples of places that benefit both wildlife and people; and

WHEREAS, Shoe Factory Road Prairie is a 9-acre, state dedicated Nature Preserve located in Hanover Township within Hoffman Estates, Illinois and is surrounded by over 300 acres of prairie, savanna, and woodland, referred to as the Carl Hansen Preserve, and has been managed by the Popular Creek Prairie Stewards and the Forest Preserves of Cook County for over 25 years; and

WHEREAS, the Poplar Creek Prairie Stewards' efforts contribute to the protection of a rare remnant gravel hill prairie. Gravel hill prairies represent a microcosm within the tallgrass prairie that support a unique plant community, including a number of important rare species; and

WHEREAS, the Poplar Creek Prairie Stewards' dedication to and hard work at Shoe Factory Road Prairie has resulted in a thriving and ecologically healthy site that can be enjoyed by all Cook County residents; and

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that Toni Preckwinkle, President; and the Board of Commissioners of the Forest Preserves thank and congratulate the Forest Preserves and the Poplar Creek Prairie Stewards for their commitment to the mission of the Forest Preserves and the goals of the Next Century Conservation Plan; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that a suitable copy of this Resolution be presented to the awardees as a token of appreciation for their service to the Forest Preserves of Cook County and the residents of Cook County.

<u>17-0413</u>

Sponsored by: TONI PRECKWINKLE (President), LUIS ARROYO JR., RICHARD R. BOYKIN, JERRY BUTLER, JOHN P. DALEY, DENNIS DEER, JOHN A. FRITCHEY, BRIDGET GAINER, JESÚS G. GARCÍA, GREGG GOSLIN, EDWARD M. MOODY, STANLEY MOORE, SEAN M. MORRISON, TIMOTHY O. SCHNEIDER, PETER N. SILVESTRI, DEBORAH SIMS, LARRY SUFFREDIN and JEFFREY R. TOBOLSKI, Forest Preserve District of Cook County Board of Commissioners

PROPOSED RESOLUTION

HONORING THE FOREST PRESERVES COOK COUNTY, THE COOK COUNTY OF DEPARTMENT OF **PUBLIC** HEALTH **AND BARBARA** BIRMINGHAM, **VOLUNTEER** STEWARD, FOR RECEIVING BEST OF THE BEST AWARD FROM THE ASSOCIATION OF PARK DISTRICTS

WHEREAS, on October 13, 2017, the Forest Preserves of Cook County and the Cook County Department of Public Health, and volunteer steward Barbara Birmingham were honored with Best of the Best awards from the Illinois Association of Park Districts; and

WHEREAS, the Forest Preserves of Cook County and the Cook County Department of Public Health received the Intergovernmental Agreement Award for their partnership to connect residents to the physical, emotional and mental benefits of spending time in nature; and

WHEREAS, this partnership enabled the Forest Preserves to implement its Gateway Master Plan, build new and strategic relationships with healthcare providers, expand its reach and leverage key resources; and

WHEREAS, the Forest Preserves of Cook County and the Cook County Department of Public Health will continue to seek resources that would allow this partnership to continue and advance health and nature initiatives that benefit the people of Cook County; and

WHEREAS, Barbara Birmingham received the Outstanding Citizen Volunteer Award for being an exceptional force for the Forest Preserves and tireless advocate for nature; and

WHEREAS, for the last 25 years Barbara Birmingham has volunteered as a dedicated Site Steward at Theodore Stone Prairie, lovingly protecting and restoring this preserve. Theodore Stone Prairie is a 142-acre forest preserve in southwest Cook County that contains a globally rare dolomite prairie, upland and remnant oak woodlands and prairie; and

WHEREAS, Barbara Birmingham was also a lead regional steward and organized the Des Plaines River Valley Restoration Project, a stewardship group that volunteers at Theodore Stone Prairie and other forest preserves; and

WHEREAS, Barbara Birmingham is known for her generosity in sharing knowledge and introducing

people to Illinois' natural heritage. Her kindness and enthusiasm bridges gaps and inspires people to care about nature. Theodore Stone Prairie continues to thrive because of her leadership and dedication; and

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that Toni Preckwinkle, President; and the Board of Commissioners of the Forest Preserves thank and congratulate the Forest Preserves and the Cook County Department of Public Health, and Barbara Birmingham for their commitment to the mission of the Forest Preserves and the goals of the Next Century Conservation Plan; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that a suitable copy of this Resolution be presented to the awardees as a token of appreciation for their service to the Forest Preserves of Cook County and the residents of Cook County.