

# Forest Preserve District of Cook County Board of Commissioners

#### **Botanic Garden Committee**

Tuesday, October 15, 2019 This meeting was rescheduled from Wednesday, October 16, 2019 at 10:00 am 9:00 AM

Cook County Building, Board Room 118 North Clark Street, Chicago, Illinois

## REVISED NOTICE AND AGENDA

There will be a meeting of the committee or subcommittee of the Forest Preserve District of Cook County Board of Commissioners at the date, time and location listed above.

## **PUBLIC TESTIMONY**

Authorization as a public speaker shall only be granted to those individuals who have submitted in writing, their name, address, subject matter, and organization (if any) to the Secretary 24 hours in advance of the meeting. Duly authorized public speakers shall be called upon to deliver testimony at a time specified in the meeting agenda. Authorized public speakers who are not present during the specified time for public testimony will forfeit their allotted time to speak at the meeting. Public testimony must be germane to a specific item(s) on the meeting agenda, and the testimony must not exceed three minutes; the Secretary will keep track of the time and advise when the time for public testimony has expired. Persons authorized to provide public testimony shall not use vulgar, abusive, or otherwise inappropriate language when addressing the Board; failure to act appropriately; failure to speak to an item that is germane to the meeting, or failure to adhere to the time requirements may result in expulsion from the meeting and/or disqualify the person from providing future testimony.

#### 19-0139

**Sponsored by:** LARRY SUFFREDIN, Forest Preserve District of Cook County Board of Commissioners

## PROPOSED RESOLUTION

REQUESTING A HEARING OF THE BOTANIC GARDEN COMMITTEE FOR A REPORT FROM THE SENIOR STAFF OF THE GARDEN CONCERNING THE OPERATIONS AND PROGRAMS OF THE CHICAGO BOTANIC GARDEN

WHEREAS, in 1962, the Chicago Horticultural Society agreed to help create and manage a new public garden. With the groundbreaking for the Chicago Botanic Garden in 1965 and its opening in 1972, the Society created a permanent site on which to carry out its mission; and

WHEREAS, the Garden has matured into one of the world's great living museums and conservation

science centers. Within the nine laboratories of the Garden's Daniel F. and Ada L. Rice Plant Conservation Science Center, scientists and graduate students conduct a wide array of plant research. The Garden is one of only 17 public gardens accredited by the American Association of Museums. Its Lenhardt Library contains 150,000 volumes-including one of the nation's best collections of rare botanical books; and

WHEREAS, the Garden has 50,000 members - one of the largest memberships of any U.S. botanic garden. People of all ages, interests, and abilities participate in programs, take classes, and stroll the grounds year-round. Annually, one million people visit its 27 gardens and four natural areas that are uniquely situated on 385 acres on and around nine islands and six miles of lake shoreline; and

WHEREAS, the Garden today is an example of a successful public-private partnership. It is owned by the Forest Preserve District of Cook County and operated by the Chicago Horticultural Society. The Garden is an important and valuable asset of the Cook County Forest Preserve District; and

**WHEREAS**, the Cook County Forest Preserve District annually provides \$9 million for the Garden in support of its world-class operations and programs; and

**NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED**, that the Cook County Board of Commissioners does hereby request that a meeting of the Botanic Garden Committee be convened to discuss the operations and programming of the Chicago Botanic Garden; and

**BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED**, that a member of the senior staff of the Chicago Botanic Garden appear before the Committee and be prepared to update the Committee on the Garden's operations and programming.

19then B. Dlan

Legislative History: 1/22/19 - FPD Board of Commissioners - refer to the Botanic Garden Committee

Secretary

Chairman: Suffredin Vice-Chairman: Britton

Members: Anaya, Daley, Deer, Johnson, K. Morrison, S. Morrison, Sims