

FOREST PRESERVE DISTRICT OF COOK COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS

Cook County Building, Board Room 118 North Clark Street, Chicago, Illinois

BOARD AGENDA

Tuesday, December 4, 2018, 9:00 AM

Special Meeting for Organization of 2018-2022 Board

PUBLIC TESTIMONY

Authorization as a public speaker shall only be granted to those individuals who have submitted in writing, their name, address, subject matter, and organization (if any) to the Secretary 24 hours in advance of the meeting. Duly authorized public speakers shall be called upon to deliver testimony at a time specified in the meeting agenda. Authorized public speakers who are not present during the specified time for public testimony will forfeit their allotted time to speak at the meeting. Public testimony must be germane to a specific item(s) on the meeting agenda, and the testimony must not exceed three minutes; the Secretary will keep track of the time and advise when the time for public testimony has expired. Persons authorized to provide public testimony shall not use vulgar, abusive, or otherwise inappropriate language when addressing the Board; failure to act appropriately; failure to speak to an item that is germane to the meeting, or failure to adhere to the time requirements may result in expulsion from the meeting and/or disqualify the person from providing future testimony.

<u>18-0531</u>

Sponsored by: JOHN P. DALEY and LARRY SUFFREDIN, Forest Preserve District of Cook County Board of Commissioners

PROPOSED ORDINANCE AMENDMENT

AN ORDINANCE ESTABLISHING THE RULES OF ORGANIZATION AND PROCEDURE FOR THE FOREST PRESERVE DISTRICT OF COOK COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS

BE IT ORDAINED, by the Forest Preserve District of Cook County Board of Commissioners, that Chapter 5 - FOREST PRESERVE DISTRICT PRESIDENT AND BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS RULES OF ORGANIZATION AND PROCEDURE is hereby amended and reinstated as follows:

CHAPTER 5 - FOREST PRESERVE DISTRICT PRESIDENT AND BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS RULES OF ORGANIZATION AND PROCEDURE

Preamble

The provisions of this Chapter shall constitute the Rules of the Board of Commissioners of the Forest Preserve District of Cook County. It is the purpose of these Rules:

- A. To provide appropriate procedures and organization for the Board of Commissioners to conduct its business in an orderly and efficient manner;
- B. To protect the right of all Commissioners to participate fully in the legislative process;
- C. To foster accountability in the governance of the Forest Preserve District; and

FPD Board of Commissioners

D. To promote openness and maximize participation in the business and affairs of the Board of Commissioners.

1-5-1: - DEFINITIONS.

1-5-2: - ORGANIZATION.

1-5-3: - BUDGET MATTERS.

1-5-4: - PARLIAMENTARY RULES.

1-5-5: - [Reserved for Procedures Relating to Revenue Matters]

1-5-6: - INTERPRETATION, FORCE AND EFFECT.

1-5-7: - TRANSITION

Effective date: This ordinance shall be in effect immediately upon adoption.

Full text of ordinance amendment can be found here: https://tinyurl.com/y9nddmay

<u>18-0517</u>

Sponsored by: TONI PRECKWINKLE (President), ALMA E. ANAYA, LUIS ARROYO JR., SCOTT R. BRITTON, JOHN P. DALEY, DENNIS DEER, BRIDGET DEGNEN, BRIDGET GAINER, BRANDON JOHNSON, BILL LOWRY, DONNA MILLER, STANLEY MOORE, KEVIN B. MORRISON, SEAN M. MORRISON, PETER N. SILVESTRI, DEBORAH SIMS, LARRY SUFFREDIN and JEFFREY R. TOBOLSKI, Forest Preserve District of Cook County Board of Commissioners

PROPOSED RESOLUTION

APPOINTMENT OF PRESIDENT PRO TEMPORE, CHAIRS AND VICE-CHAIRS OF THE STANDING COMMITTEES AND **SUBCOMMITTEES** AND MEMBERS OF **STANDING** FOREST COMMITTEES AND **SUBCOMMITTEES** OF THE PRESERVE DISTRICT BOARD

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE FOREST PRESERVE DISTRICT BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS OF COOK COUNTY, ILLINOIS, that, effective upon passage, the following Commissioners are designated and appointed as President Pro Tempore, Chairpersons and Vice-Chairpersons of the Standing Committees and Subcommittees of the Board.

Section 1. The President Pro Tempore of the Cook County Board shall be Commissioner Sims.

FPD Board of Commissioners

Section 2. The Chair, Vice-Chair and members of the committees and of the subcommittees of the Cook County Board shall be as follows:

AUDIT (7 members)	
Chair:	Tobolski
Vice-Chair:	Anaya
Members:	Britton, Degnen, Lowry, Miller, S. Morrison
BOTANIC GARDEN (9 n	nembers)
Chair:	Suffredin
Vice-Chair:	Britton
Members:	Anaya, Daley, Deer, Johnson, K. Morrison, S. Morrison, Sims
CAPITAL DEVELOPME	NT (9)
Chair:	Arroyo
Vice-Chair:	Sims
Members:	Britton, Deer, Johnson, Moore, K. Morrison, S. Morrison, Silvestri
CONTRACT COMPLIAN	JCE (9 members)
Chair:	Arroyo
Vice-Chair:	Miller
Members:	Anaya, Deer, Degnen, Johnson, Lowry, Moore, Sims
ENVIRONMENT AND S	USTAINABILITY (7 members)
Chair:	Deer
Vice-Chair:	Degnen
Members:	Britton, Lowry, Miller, K. Morrison, Silvestri
FINANCE (Committee of	the Whole)
Chair:	Arroyo
Vice-Chair:	Deer
Members:	All Board Members
Finance Subcommittee on	Litigation (7 members)
Chair:	Silvestri
Vice-Chair:	Lowry
Members:	Britton, Degnen, Johnson, S. Morrison, Suffredin
FINANCE SUBCOMMIT	TEE ON WORKERS' COMPENSATION (5 members)
Chair:	S. Morrison
Vice-Chair:	Britton
Members:	Degnen, Johnson, K. Morrison

LABOR (9 members)

FPD Board of Commissioners

BOARD AGENDA

Chair:	Arroyo
Vice Chair:	Tobolski
Members:	Degnen, Johnson, Lowry, Miller, K. Morrison, Moore, Sims
LAW ENFORCEM	ENT (7 members)
Chair:	Moore
Vice-Chair:	Silvestri
Members:	Britton, Johnson, Miller, K. Morrison, Tobolski
LEGISLATION AN	ID INTERGOVERNMENTAL
RELATIONS (Com	mittee of the Whole)
Chair:	Suffredin
Vice-Chair:	Britton
Members:	All Board Members
REAL ESTATE (C	ommittee of the Whole)
Chair:	Moore
Vice-Chair:	K. Morrison
Members:	All Board Members
RECREATION (7 r	nembers)
Chair:	S. Morrison
Vice-Chair:	Johnson
Members:	Anaya, Deer, Miller, K. Morrison, Tobolski
RULES AND ADM	IINISTRATION (9 members)
Chair:	Suffredin
Vice-Chair:	Degnen
Members:	Daley, Deer, Lowry, Miller, S. Morrison, Silvestri, Sims
ZOOLOGICAL (9 1	members)
Chair:	Tobolski
Vice-Chair:	Moore
Members:	Arroyo, Daley, Deer, Miller, K. Morrison, S. Morrison, Silvestri