

Forest Preserve District of Cook County Board of Commissioners

Minutes of the Decennial Committee

Tuesday, December 12, 2023

9:30 AM

Cook County Building, Board Room, 118 North Clark Street, Chicago, Illinois

ATTENDANCE

Present: Britton, Aguilar, Anaya, Deer, Degnen, Gordon, Lowry, Miller, Morita, Morrison,

Quezada, Trevor, Randall and Templeton (14)

Absent: Daley, Gainer, Moore, Morrison and Bell (5)

There will be a meeting of the committee or subcommittee of the Forest Preserve District of Cook County Board of Commissioners at the date, time and location listed above.

PUBLIC TESTIMONY

COMMITTEE MINUTES

Approval of the minutes from the meeting of 05/23/2023.

Attachments: fpd decennial minutes 5-23-2023 SIGNED

A motion was made by Commissioner Morrison, seconded by Commissioner Anaya, to approve 23-0635. The motion carried by the following vote:

Ayes: Britton, Aguilar, Anaya, Deer, Degnen, Gordon, Lowry, Miller, Morita, Morrison,

Quezada, Trevor, Randall and Templeton (14)

Absent: Daley, Gainer, Moore, Morrison and Bell (5)

PROPOSED RESOLUTION

RESOLUTION SCHEDULING THE DATE AND TIME OF THE NEXT MEETING OF THE **DECENNIAL COMMITTEE**

WHEREAS, on June 10, 2022, the Decennial Committees on Local Government Efficiency Act (50 ILCS 70/1 et seq) (the "Act") became effective and placed certain requirements on the Forest Preserves of Cook County Board of Commissioners (the "Board"), including the formation of a Decennial Committee of the Forest Preserves of Cook County (the "Committee") by June 10, 2023; and

WHEREAS, the Board formed the Committee via Resolution 23-0230 on April 25, 2023, setting the time and date of the first meeting for 9:30 AM on May 23, 2023 at Sagawau Environmental Learning Center, 12545 West 111th Street in Lemont, in the said Resolution; and

WHEREAS, in accordance with the Act and per said Resolution, the Committee is chaired by Chairman Scott Britton of the Board's Committee on Legislation and Intergovernmental Relations as the designee of the President of the Forest Preserves of Cook County Board of Commissioners, and composed of (1) Forest Preserves of Cook County Commissioners, (2) General Superintendent Arnold Randall, and (3) two Cook County residents, Alan Bell and Mark Templeton, who also serve as members of the Conservation and Policy Council; and

WHEREAS, the purpose of such committee is to study the Forest Preserves of Cook County's governing procedures, powers, jurisdiction, ordinances. rules. shared services. intergovernmental agreements, and interrelationships with other governmental units and the State, and no later than eighteen (18) months after the formation of the Committee, Friday, October 25, 2024, the Committee shall provide a report to the Cook County Board of Commissioners and such report shall include recommendations in respect to increased accountability and efficiency.

WHEREAS, via Resolution 23-0361 the second meeting of the Committee was set for December 12, 2023 at 9:30 AM in Room 569 of the Cook County Building, 118 North Clark Street, Chicago, Illinois.

NOW THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that the next meeting of the Committee is hereby scheduled for July 23, 2024 at 9:30 AM at the Thatcher Woods Pavilion, 8030 Chicago Avenue in River Forest, Illinois.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that in the interim, the Forest Preserves shall undertake tasks enumerated under the Act.

> (50 ILCS 70/) Decennial Committees on Local **Attachments:**

Government Efficiency Act

A motion was made by Commissioner Lowry, seconded by Commissioner Deer, to approve 23-0609. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aves: Britton, Aguilar, Anaya, Deer, Degnen, Gordon, Lowry, Miller, Morita, Morrison, Quezada, Trevor, Randall and Templeton (14)

Absent: Daley, Gainer, Moore, Morrison and Bell (5)

ADJOURNMENT

A motion was made by Commissioner SEAN M. MORRISON, seconded by Commissioner ALMA E. ANAYA, that this was adjourn. The motion carried by the following vote:

Ayes: Britton, Aguilar, Anaya, Deer, Degnen, Gordon, Lowry, Miller, Morrison,

Quezada, Trevor, Randall and Templeton (14)

Absent: Daley, Gainer, Moore, Morrison and Bell (5)

Respectfully submitted,

Secretary

Secretary

Secretary

A complete record of this meeting is available at https://fpdcc.legistar.com.